A Nightmare

Daily Prompt: Ready, Set, Done
10 minutes. You and your keyboard. No pauses, no edits, no looking back: it’s free-write time!

My first ever attempt to write 10 minutes, like dictated above, in a foreign language and I feel nervous. can I do this? I will make an attempt to recapture what I have been learning about Halloween and Jack Skellington from the movie ‘The Nightmare Before Christmas”. For all Americans this must be an old hat but it might hold some news to members from other countries.

Jack_Skellington_by_gph_artist.deviantart com

This is the first year, the first time, that I am giving Halloween some more thoughts. I set off to read an article about Halloween and somehow landed at descriptions of Jack Skellington.

Jack is a dressed up skeleton who can remove body parts without being harmed. Other times he is depicted as a scare crow. He has a girlfriend named Sally who is a rag-doll and the only character who seems to understand Jack and his behavior.

He also has a dog called Zero. Zero’s nose glows like a jack-o-lantern. This prompted me to rename my dog Zero for the Halloween season. I asked her if she likes the name Zero for a little while and she wagged her tail. I take that as her consent.

Anyway, Jack is the pumpkin king of Halloween Town’s Halloween celebration and he is bored with the repetitious pattern the way it’s held. Somehow he visits Christmas town and is inspired but does not get the proper Christmas spirit.

I haven’t seen the movie, but all seems to go haywire and I imagine he mimics Santa only in scaring children.

luminous-light14.deviantart com

oops, my 10 minutes are up. There was no time to mention, that at the end he is together with Sally. He does not manage to say the words ‘I love you’ but manages ‘dear friend’. He must love her though because, apparently, Santa visits him a few years later and he gets to meet quite a number of skeleton kids. I can’t wait to watch this movie!

geektyrant com

images: gph_artist.deviantart.com; luminous-light14.deviantart.com; geektyrant.com.

Leave a Reply

